Results declared for
PGDFM/PGDSM 2022-24 Batch

Sandeep Tambe


Sandeep Tambe

Faculty area: Technical Forestry


Telephone Extension Number: 463



Short Bio

Dr. Sandeep Tambe
Faculty area: Technical Forestry

Sandeep Tambe is a member of the Indian Forest Service and has diverse work experience having worked in government, NGO and academic institutions. He served 16 years in Sikkim state in the forest and rural development sectors. While in Sikkim he contributed to securing wildlife areas in the Khangchendzonga landscape, effective implementation of poverty alleviation programmes and in the revival of Himalayan springs using scientific and people centric approaches. He has also contributed towards policy formulation for lake conservation, eco-development, mountain guardian’s policy, trekking regulations, pro-poor targeting, strengthening decentralized governance, effective social audits, convergence partnerships and post-earthquake reconstruction.


He graduated from IIT Mumbai, is a post graduate in Forestry from the Forest Research Institute and a PhD from Wildlife Institute of India. He has served as the Chief Conservator of Forests and as Special Secretary in the Rural Management and Development Department, Government of Sikkim before joining the Indian Institute of Forest Management in 2015. As a professor at IIFM, he is teaching courses related to forest policy and law, rural planning and livelihoods, natural resource management and project management. He played a key role in the formulation of the draft National Forest Policy 2018. He has authored 20 research papers and penned five books. His present research interests are water security, rural livelihoods, science-policy-practice interface and co-producing sustainability solutions.


He graduated from the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Mumbai, is a postgraduate in forestry from the Forest Research Institute (FRI) and is a Ph.D. from the Wildlife Institute of India (WII). He was selected as the top 25 persons of the year by the Forbes India magazine in 2010, was conferred the T. N. Khoshoo Memorial Award in 2012, Prime Minister’s Award for Excellence in Public Administration in 2013 (institutional), Sikkim State Award for Meritorious Service in 2014, National Award for Excellence in Sustainable Livelihoods and Transparency and Accountability in 2014 and 2015 respectively (institutional). He was selected as the Best Teacher by the IIFM student’s council in 2017.

Google Scholar Link

Research Gate Profile

Other Info